Home News Ag Economics Majority Leader Aguiar-Curry Recognized with Ag Council of California Influential Legislator Award

Majority Leader Aguiar-Curry Recognized with Ag Council of California Influential Legislator Award

Agricultural Council of California (Ag Council) presented its 2024 Influential Legislator Award to Majority Leader Cecelia Aguiar-Curry (D-Winters) during the organization’s annual Legislative Conference in Sacramento.

The annual award is given to a legislator who embodies an active and collaborative approach to finding positive outcomes for agriculture and all of California.

Ag Council President Emily Rooney said, “Majority Leader Aguiar-Curry works strategically with others in the Legislature to achieve critical results for our members and is a staunch ally of agriculture on a wide variety of policy issues. When considering policies, she asks, ‘What do my ag people think about this issue?’ She has worked to ensure funding for ag programs to reduce emissions and meet climate goals. She also helped secure a grant program for farmers and ag-related businesses affected by recent flood or drought events.”

As majority leader, Aguiar-Curry works in close communication with the Assembly speaker and speaker pro tempore to build agreement across the Democrat Caucus and expedite Assembly proceedings. She also serves as vice chair of the Legislative Women’s Caucus.

She is a member of the Assembly Committee on Agriculture, the Committee on Health, the Committee on Transportation, and is chair of the Select Committee on Wine.

Aguiar-Curry was elected to the Assembly in 2016 to represent the 4th District comprising all of Napa, Lake, Yolo, Colusa and Solano Counties and part of Sonoma County. Previously, she served as mayor of Winters and was an elected city councilmember.

Growing up, she helped her father in the walnut orchards in the area. She is still involved agriculture as she and her brothers own an 80-acre walnut orchard.

Her leadership is commendable, and Ag Council thanks her for being a steadfast advocate for our members. Congratulations to Majority Leader Aguiar-Curry for being named Ag Council’s Influential Legislator of the Year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *