Home News Ag Economics California Association of Winegrape Growers Opens Nominations for 2025 Awards of Excellence Program

California Association of Winegrape Growers Opens Nominations for 2025 Awards of Excellence Program

The California Association of Winegrape Growers (CAWG) is pleased to announce nominations are now open for its prestigious 2025 Awards of Excellence Program. These awards are designed to honor growers and industry leaders who have shown outstanding leadership and commitment to the winegrape industry, benefiting both their communities and the environment.

The Grower of the Year Award, the highest honor bestowed by CAWG, recognizes individuals, families, or companies who exemplify excellence in viticulture and management. Recipients are acknowledged for their innovative practices, leadership, and exceptional quality of winegrape production.

Previous Grower of the Year Award winners include John Kautz, John Kautz family; Steve McIntyre, Monterey Pacific; Andy Beckstoffer, Beckstoffer Vineyards; The Ledbetter Family; Jerry and Bruce Fry, Mohr-Fry Ranches; Brad & Randy Lange, LangeTwins Family Winery & Vineyards, Steve Schafer, Schafer Vineyards; Andy Hoxsey, Napa Wine Company/Yount Mill Vineyards; The Bogle Family, Bogle Vineyards; Dana Merrill, Mesa Vineyard Management; and Sangiacomo Family Vineyards.

The Leader of the Year Award is bestowed upon exceptional individuals who have demonstrated extraordinary leadership benefiting California’s wine industry. Recipients are recognized for their commitment to championing issues of importance to winegrape growers and effecting positive change within the industry.

Previous Leader of the Year Award winners include: Nat DiBuduo, Allied Grape Growers; Ben Drake, Drake Enterprises; Richard Keehn; Volker Eisele, Volker Eisele Family Estate; Richard Smith, Smith Family Wines; Al Scheid, Scheid Vineyards; Karissa Kruse, Sonoma Winegrowers; Brad Goehring, Goehring Vineyards, Inc; Dr. Anita Oberholster, UC Davis; Jeanne Malitz, MalitzLaw, Inc; and California Secretary of Agriculture, Karen Ross. Nominations for the 2025 Awards of Excellence Program are open until June 15, 2024.

Winners will be honored at a special reception on January 28, 2025, during opening night of the Unified Wine and Grape Symposium in Sacramento, CA.

To nominate a deserving individual or company, please visit cawg.org for more information.

About the California Association of Winegrape Growers (CAWG):

CAWG is a statewide nonprofit trade association advocating for California’s winegrape growers to ensure the sustainability of the winegrape industry. CAWG promotes the industry’s long-term success by advancing the adoption of sound public policies and fostering awareness and understanding of winegrape growers’ contributions to the economy, environment, and California communities. Learn more at cawg.org.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *