Home News Ag Economics California Dairyman Steve Maddox Receives National Honor

California Dairyman Steve Maddox Receives National Honor

The National Dairy Promotion and Research Board (NDB) honored Steve Maddox and Connie Seefeldt as the 2023 co-recipients of the Richard E. Lyng Award for their contributions and distinguished service to dairy promotion.

Maddox is a California dairy farmer, former NDB board member and current Dairy Council of California board member.

Seefeldt is a Wisconsin dairy farmer, former NDB board member and current Dairy Farmers of Wisconsin (DFW) board member.

Wisconsin dairy farmer Connie Seefeldt was also honored with the Richard E. Lyng Award (Image courtesy of DMI).

The pair was recognized at this week’s Joint NDB/National Milk Producers Federation/United Dairy Industry Association Annual Meeting in Orlando, Fla.

The award is named for former U.S. Department of Agriculture Secretary Richard E. Lyng, who played a critical role in implementing policies that led to the establishment of NDB more than 35 years ago. It honors leaders who have made a significant contribution to dairy promotion that benefits the entire industry.

Seefeldt, who has served on the DFW board since 1994, is the longest serving board member in the organization’s history. She is the fifth generation on her family’s dairy, which was founded in 1906.

Maddox joined his family’s business in 1978 after graduating from California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo. In addition to dairy farming, the family grows grapes, almonds, alfalfa and silage. Maddox has a passion for dairy promotion and research, which led him to serve on the Innovation Center for U.S. Dairy’s sustainability council from 2009-17. Additionally, he held roles on the NDB and Dairy Council of California boards and with the National Milk Producers Federation.

“Steve’s passion for dairy has never wavered and his dedication to promotion and research has been significant in California and across the country,” said Darrin Monteiro, California Dairies Inc. vice president of sustainability and member relations.

As part of the Richard E. Lyng Award, the NDB will contribute $2,500 in each winner’s name to an organization of their choice. Seefeldt has selected the Wisconsin Academy for Rural Medicine program at the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health. Maddox has chosen the Dairy Shrine.

For information about the dairy checkoff, visit www.usdairy.com/for-farmers.

The 37-member National Dairy Board, formed in May 1984 under the authority of the Dairy Promotion Stabilization Act of 1983, carries out coordinated promotion and research program to help build demand, and expand domestic and international markets for dairy products and ingredients. NDB funds, in part, Dairy Management Inc., which manages the national dairy checkoff program.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *