Home News Ag Economics Suzanne Groth of Groth Vineyards & Winery Elected Wine Institute Chair

Suzanne Groth of Groth Vineyards & Winery Elected Wine Institute Chair

Suzanne Groth, President and CEO of Groth Vineyards & Winery, headquartered in Oakville, CA, was elected Wine Institute Board Chairman for the 2021-2022 fiscal year at the organization’s 87th Annual Meeting of Members. Other officers elected were Rick Tigner of Jackson Family Wines in Santa Rosa, First Vice Chairman; Randall Lange of LangeTwins Family Vineyards and Winery in Acampo, Second Vice Chairman; Matt Gallo of E. & J. Gallo Winery in Modesto, Treasurer; and Robin Baggett of Alpha Omega Winery in Rutherford and Tolosa Winery in San Luis Obispo, Secretary. Bobby Koch is President and CEO of Wine Institute.

“We California vintners are so fortunate to be growing and producing our iconic wines here in an ideal and diverse climate. Even with the many challenges we face, especially in the last year of unprecedented times, we find golden opportunities,” said Suzanne Groth, Groth Vineyards & Winery President and CEO. “If a vintner’s quest is to grow and make the best wines in the world, there is not a better soil, climate and access to market than California.” 

As a second-generation family member of Groth Vineyards & Winery, Groth became President and CEO in 2017. She previously led the family business as Vice President of Sales and Marketing and prior to that worked in wine sales and public relations, for a combined 19 years. Previously, Groth worked for the Henry Wine Group, a California wine distributor where she sold wine to San Francisco restaurants and retailers.

Groth Vineyards & Winery has been a member of Wine Institute since 1984 and Groth has served as a board member since 2014. Groth has also served as President of the Oakville Winegrowers since 2019 and been member of the Board of Directors since 2013.

Wine Institute’s membership also elected new district and at-large directors and alternates. District directors and their alternates were elected on a one-member-one-vote basis in each district, following nominations by regional winery associations. They are:




Alternate Director 


Kaj Ahlmann
Six Sigma Winery

John Kane
Fetzer Vineyards


Julie Pedroncelli St. John 
J. Pedroncelli Winery

Katie Wetzel Murphy 
Alexander Valley Vineyards

Tobin Ginter 
Rodney Strong Vineyards

Steven MacRostie 
MacRostie Winery & Vineyards

Ana Keller 
Keller Estate

Alan Ramey
Ramey Wine Cellars

Christopher Lloyd
Senses Wine

James Perry
Sonoma-Cutrer Vineyards


Suzanne Groth
Groth Vineyards & Winery

Hugh Davies
Schramsberg Vineyards

Dennis Cakebread
Cakebread Cellars

Robin Baggett
Alpha Omega Winery
Tolosa Winery

Mike Reynolds 
HALL Wines

Delia Viader 
Viader Vineyards & Winery

Michael Maher 
Harlan Estate

Chris Hall 
Long Meadow Ranch Winery

Amelia Morán Ceja 
Ceja Vineyards

Paul Leary 
Palmaz Vineyards

San Francisco Bay

Amanda Kent 
Darcie Kent Vineyards

William Cooper 
Cooper-Garrod Estate Vineyards

Monterey Bay 

Scott Scheid
Scheid Vineyards


Central Coast 

Nicholas Miller 
Miller Family Wine Company

Laura Booras 
Riverbench Vineyard & Winery

Gretchen Roddick 
Hope Family Wines

Gary Eberle 
Eberle Winery

Maeve Pesquera
DAOU Vineyards & Winery

Karen Steinwachs
Buttonwood Farm Winery

Clarence Chia
Justin Vineyards & Winery


Southern California

Steve Kahle 
Woof’n Rose Winery

Linda McWilliams
San Pasqual Winery


Steve Millier 
Milliaire Winery

Stuart Mast 
Brice Station Vintners


Randall Lange 
LangeTwins Family Vineyards and Winery

David Phillips 
Michael-David Winery


Kyle W. Ray
ASV Wines

John Allbaugh
Bronco Wine Company

All members elected 20 at-large directors who had been nominated by the Institute’s Finance and Administration Committee. Alternates were chosen by at-large directors.

At-large Director 


Corey Beck 
Francis Ford Coppola Presents

Kenneth Miniami 
Francis Ford Coppola Presents

Giancarlo Bianchetti 
Fetzer Vineyards

Erik Olsen 
Fetzer Vineyards

James E. Coleman 
E. & J. Gallo Winery

To be announced

Matt Deegan
Constellation Brands, Inc.

Sam Glaetzer 
Constellation Brands, Inc.

Ben Dollard 
Treasury Wine Estates

Debra Dommen 
Treasury Wine Estates

Michael Drobnick 
O’Neill Vintners & Distillers

Matthew Towers 
O’Neill Vintners & Distillers

Jeffrey Dubiel 
The Wine Group

Keith Bauman 
The Wine Group

Matthew J. Gallo 
E. & J. Gallo Winery

Stephanie Gallo 
E. & J. Gallo Winery

Cate Hardy 
The Wine Group

Amy Hoopes 
The Wine Group

Cheryl Indelicato 
Delicato Family Wines

Mark Merrion 
Delicato Family Wines

Peter N. Larson 
Trinchero Family Estates

Roger J. Trinchero 
Trinchero Family Estates

Daniel Leonard 
Bronco Wine Company

Chris Mifsud 
Bronco Wine Company

Lawrence T. Lohr 
J. Lohr Vineyards & Wines

Jeff Humphreys 
J. Lohr Vineyards & Wines

Alex Ryan 
Duckhorn Wine Company

Sean Sullivan 
Duckhorn Wine Company

Viviann Stapp 
Jackson Family Wines

Carolyn Wasem 
Jackson Family Wines

Rick Tigner 
Jackson Family Wines

Katie Jackson 
Jackson Family Wines

Robert R. Torkelson 
Trinchero Family Estates

Anthony Torres 
Trinchero Family Estates

Michael Walker 
Constellation Brands, Inc.

Tiffanie De Liberty 
Constellation Brands, Inc.

Christine Wente 
Wente Family Estates

Aly Wente 
Wente Family Estates

Jolene Yee 
Delicato Family Wines

Kathleen Mayhew 
Delicato Family Wines

Wine Institute is the public policy advocacy group of more than 1,000 California wineries and affiliated businesses, working at the state, national and international levels. Based in San Francisco, with offices in Sacramento, Washington, D.C., six regions across the U.S. and 13 foreign countries, Wine Institute is guided by 80 vintners who are members and alternates on an active board of directors. The board elects the Chairman and officers on an annual basis.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *