Home News Ag Economics US Jersey Youth Scholarship Winners Announced

US Jersey Youth Scholarship Winners Announced

The American Jersey Cattle Association (AJCA) has awarded 13 Jersey youth over $30,000 worth of scholarships, the most money ever awarded, for the 2019-20 school year. Selection was based on scholastic achievement as well as participation in Jersey and other agricultural activities.


Two Russell Memorial Scholarships were awarded in memory of the late William A. Russell. The first scholarship, the William A. Russell Memorial Scholarship, was established in his name in 1977 and is designated for students who have completed high school and are beginning their university studies. The second, the Russell-Malnati Scholarship for Advanced Studies, was established to honor the late J. J. “Doc” Malnati of Bush River Jerseys, Newberry, S.C. The recipients were Lydia Rose Chittenden, Schodack Landing, N.Y., and James Edward Holton, Dawsonville, Ga.


Chittenden is a freshman at State University of New York College of Agriculture and Technology at Cobleskill (SUNY-Cobleskill) majoring in dairy science. She received an award of $2,750. Holton received $5,000 to continue his education at the University of Georgia where he is enrolled in the university’s College of Veterinary Medicine.


The Jack C. Nisbet Scholarship is awarded to a participant in the National Jersey Youth Achievement contest.  It was created in 1965 to honor the AJCA’s seventh Executive Secretary, who served the organization from 1943-1947. This year’s recipient was Samantha Josephine Schuessler of Antigo, Wis.


Schuessler is a junior at California Polytechnic State University in San Luis Obispo, with a dairy science major and agricultural communications minor. Her scholarship award was $2,750.

The V.L. Peterson Scholarship is awarded to youth who have completed at least one year of college. It commemorates Vic” Peterson, the dean of Jersey area representatives, was established in 1972. The scholarship is available to students who have completed at least one year of college. Kathryn Marie Bosley, Malone, N.Y., was this year’s recipient.


Bosley is a junior at SUNY-Cobleskill majoring in animal science. She received an award of $2,750.


The Paul Jackson Memorial Scholarship is also awarded to youth who have completed at least one year of college. This award was created in 1965 to honor Paul Jackson’s service to the Jersey breed, which spanned more than half a century. The 2019 winner was Hayley Rose Fernandes, Tulare, Calif.


Fernandes is a sophomore at California Polytechnic studying dairy science with a law and society minor. This year’s scholarship award was for $2,000.


The Cedarcrest Farms Scholarship was established in 1999 and has been funded by the sale of a bull at two of the Cedarcrest sales. It is awarded to a student in large animal veterinary medicine, dairy production, dairy manufacturing or dairy product marketing. Undergraduate and graduate students are both eligible for the award. This year’s recipient was Marie Elizabeth Haase of Somerset, Wis.

A sophomore at the UW-River Falls, Haase is majoring in dairy science with a minor focused on ag business. The scholarship award for this year is $2,250.


In 2003, the Bob Toole Youth Award was established to honor the lifelong enthusiasm Bob Toole felt for the Jersey cow. The award is given to a young person who seeks formal education or practical experience related to the breeding, developing and showing of Jerseys. Seth Richard Carson, Newbury, Vt., was named this year’s award recipient.


Carson, a freshman, is studying dairy science at Virginia Polytechnic and State University. He received $2,000 for his educational endeavors.


In 2005, with special encouragement from the late Donnie Sherman in his role as president, the AJCA leadership established a long-range goal of increasing scholarship funds. A young bull bred by Sherman, D&E Rebel Scholar {6}-ET, was syndicated in The All American Jersey Sale, with all proceeds from his sale and future royalties earmarked for the AJCA Educational, Youth Activities and Special Awards Fund. This scholarship—called the AJCA Directors’ Scholarship—was awarded for the first time in 2016. Erin Faith Leach, Linwood, Kan., received this year’s scholarship.


Majoring in animal science with a business option, Leach is a senior at Oklahoma State University. This year she received $2,500 from the fund.


The Morris B. Ewing ABS Genetic Performance Scholarship is awarded annually to a junior or senior undergraduate student seeking a career in genetics, dairy production, large animal veterinary medicine or milk marketing. It honors the dedicated efforts of the long-time sire analyst to improving the productivity and profitability of Jersey cows and Jersey genetics. The award includes a copy of Ewing’s autobiography, A Time with Jerseys. The 2019 recipient was Allison Taylor Foster, Portage, Wis.


Foster is majoring in dairy science at the University of Wisconsin-Platteville where she is currently a senior. Her award was $3,250.


A generous contribution from Dr. Joe Lineweaver and his wife Beverly established The Lineweaver Scholarship for students who have completed at least one year at an accredited four-year college/university in a dairy science, animal sciences or dairy products department. Selection is based on financial need, leadership skills and academic performance. It may be automatically renewed twice or until completion of the recipient’s undergraduate degree (whichever comes first) provided eligibility requirements are met, continuing financial need exists, and academic performance is maintained. Catherine Tess Savage, Dickerson, Md., received this year’s scholarship award.


Savage attends Virginia Tech where she is a junior studying dairy science with minors in ag businesses and animal and poultry science. Her award is $3,500.


The Anne E. Perchard Challenge Award recognizes the accomplishments, abilities and leadership potential shown to date by the recipient and challenges them to achieve their potential through continued participation in Jersey activities. It was made possible by a bequest from the late Anne Perchard of St. Martin, Jersey, Channel Islands, an independent entrepreneur who built La Ferme, the largest dairy herd in Jersey, with her sons. This year’s recipient was Grace Elizabeth Howe, Waukon, Iowa.


Howe is a freshman at Iowa State University with a major in agriculture and society. She received a cash award of $350.


Scholarship winners were recognized at the Junior Banquet to be held in Louisville, Ky., November 9, 2019. The Junior Banquet is held in conjunction with All American Jersey activities in Louisville including the All American Open and Junior Jersey shows, the All American Sale, Pot O’ Gold Sale.


The American Jersey Cattle Association, organized in 1868, compiles and maintains animal identification and performance data on Jersey cattle and provides services that support genetic improvement and greater profitability through increasing the value of and demand for Registered Jersey™ cattle and genetics, and Jersey milk and milk products. For more information on the association’s complete line of services for dairy business owners, visit the website at www.USJersey.com or connect at Facebook.com/USJersey.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *